Favorite Book of 2009?

Tell us your Favorite Book of 2009 or your Favorite Book of All Time and you’ll be entered in to win 2 tickets to “Men at the Cross” – the 2010 NW Regional Men’s Conference on Friday, January 29th and Saturday, January 30th – featuring Donald Miller, author of the bestseller Blue Like Jazz. The conference also features three other great speakers: Bill Perkins, Joe White, and Mike Silva.

Not local to Oregon but you want to enter? No problem. We’re also giving away a hard cover copy of Donald Miller’s latest book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years to the runner up.

And the winners are…
Tim M. – Two Tickets to the “Men at the Cross” Conference
Geoff P. – Donald Miller’s book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Thanks to everyone who participated.
Stay tuned for more contests coming soon.

If you’d like to know more about this event and the speakers who will be presenting, please visit their website at www.nwmensconference.com.

15 Comments

Filed under Contest

15 responses to “Favorite Book of 2009?

  1. Outliers, by Malcolm Gladwell

    Honorable Mentions from pre-2009:

    The Barbarian Way, by Erwin McManus
    The World is Flat, by Thomas Friedman
    The Forgotten Ways, by Alan Hirsch

  2. Although it was published in late 2008, I didn’t read it until 2009:

    The Prodigal God by Tim Keller

  3. Okay, it is probably now considered ‘popular press’ but gave me fresh insight into GOD’s character and ability to express Himself uniquely to each of us and the incredible love the Father has to bring us through our stuff into freedom, THE SHACK by Wm Paul Young.

    Gave Blue Like Jazz to my son last year and am trying to borrow it to read it.

    • I read The Shack when it first came out. One of those quick reads. I liked the concept but wasn’t exactly sure how to process it against the Christian culture in which I was raised. I think I need to re-read it to give a better thought on my feelings toward it.

      Also, I’ve never read Blue Like Jazz. People have been telling me time and again to read it but I just never picked it up. I did, however, read Donald Miller’s latest book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.

    • I liked The Shack too. I listened to it on audio while driving back from Canada this last year. It was pretty powerful.

  4. MJ

    My husband and I really enjoyed reading The Duggars: 20 and Counting! by Michelle & Jim Bob Duggar.

    It’s full of wonderful parenting tips, resources, recipes and beautiful stories of God’s love and faithfulness.

  5. I have a couple books from 2009 that have been great for me in different realms.

    Four Hour Work Week” by Timothy Ferris was a great read for inspiration and business.

    Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters” was an incredible book. This is a must read for any dad with a little girl.

  6. Sweet! I haven’t read that book yet and I look forward to it!

Leave a Reply

