The Power of the Spoken Word

What is known about the power of the spoken word? The words that we speak out loud or the words that are silently kept in our heads are very powerful. The moment you speak something, you give birth to it. Words are similar to seeds as they are planted in our subconscious minds. They take root, grow, and produce fruit of the same kind. Whether positive or negative words are spoken, we will reap exactly what we sow. That’s why we need to be extremely careful of what is thought and said. Blessings or curses can be spoken with just a few mere words.

In James 3:4, the Bible compares the tongue to the rudder of a huge ship. Although the rudder is small, it controls the ship’s direction. Similar to how the tongue will control the direction of one’s life. An environment can be created for either good or evil with words, and you are going to live in the world you created. If you’re always complaining and talking about how bad life is treating you, you’re going to live in a pretty miserable world. However, God wants us to use our words to change our negative situations. Some people are trying to live in blessings of the Lord while still talking like the devil. We must not make that mistake. We will not see positive results in our daily lives if we speak negative things.

We need to change our day to day thinking. If I had a head cold, and a friend noticed my coughing and runny nose they might say, “Oh my you sound sick! You look terrible!” I think our normal response might be, “Yeah, I feel terrible,” or “Yeah, I just want to crawl under a rock!” But what if we said something else like, “I don’t feel very good, but I am asking God to heal me. “ (That kind of changes our attitude a little). That allows the Holy Spirit to heal us. To say things like, “Nothing good ever happens to me,” will literally prevent you from moving ahead in life. That’s why you must learn to guard your tongue and speak only faith-filled words over your life.

Mark 11:23-24
“I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

The Bible clearly tells us to speak to our mountains! Maybe your mountain is a sickness, or a troubled relationship, or a business deal. Usually when we have mountains in our lives we talk about them, but God‘s word tells us to talk TO them. Whatever your mountain is, you must do more than think about it, more than pray about it. You must speak to that obstacle. So what do we say to our mountains? What we say must line up with the Word of God. We speak about God’s will and His Word. In Luke 4, when Jesus was being tempted by Satan in the wilderness, He answered every trial with the Word of God. He said repeatedly, “IT IS WRITTEN,” and quoted Scriptures that met the devil head on, even though Satan came back at him with Scriptures. (Yes the devil knows the Bible!!!) What do you do when you NEED the words? Ask God to give them to you. Speak in the spirit.

Proverbs 18:21says, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and they who indulge in it shall eat the fruit of it.” Think about the words that come out of our mouths. They can bring blessing or destruction, not only in our lives but also in the lives of others.

Understanding negative talk is not enough. When you believe God’s Word and begin to boldly confess it with your mouth, mixing it with your faith, you are actually confirming that truth and making it valid in your life. God has great things in store for us. He wants to bless us. He wants us to declare those blessings.

Proverbs 12:18 says, “Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”

Whether we realize it or not, our words affect our children’s future for good or evil. We need to speak loving words of approval and acceptance, words that encourage, inspire, and motivate our family members. When we do that, we speak blessings into their lives. Too often we are harsh and fault finding with our children. Our negative words will cause our children to lose the sense of value God has placed within them, and can allow the enemy to bring all kinds of insecurity into their lives. What are you passing down to the next generation? A Blessing is not a blessing until it is spoken. Your children need to hear you say such words as “I love you. I believe in you. I think you are great. I know you can do it. You are smart. You are incredible. I’m so proud of you.” They need to hear your approval. They need to feel your love. They need your blessing. We talk about being God’s hands and feet…. We are also God’s mouthpiece (mouth peace).

Now knowing God’s word, I am learning to declare the Word of God!! Instead of saying, “I can’t believe God or anyone else could love a sinner like me,” I read 2 Corinthians 5:17, and instead declare “I AM A NEW CREATURE IN CHRIST: OLD THINGS HAVE PASSED AWAY, BEHOLD ALL THINGS ARE BECOME NEW.” Instead of complaining about all the things that are going wrong in my life, I can declare the Word of God in Eph 4:27. It says, “I will not give the devil a foothold in my life. I resist the devil and he has to flee.” When I think about the abusive people in my past and dwell on that darkness, I can read 1John 2: 11 that says, “I do not hate or walk in unforgiveness.” “I cast all of my cares on the Lord for He cares for me.” (1Peter 5:7)

Joel 3:10, “Let the weak say I AM STRONG!” Start positively talking to yourself as being healed, happy, whole, blessed, and prosperous. Stop talking about how big your mountains are and start telling your mountains how big your God is!

Renee’ Oviatt grew up in Germany, Japan, and various states in the USA. Renee’ is a recient graduate of Ministry Training Institute and is a key volunteer for the Salem Dream Center. Renee’ lives in West Salem with her husband Craig, her daughter Courtney, Bella (the Beagle) and Thunderbolt (the turtle). She has a son, Justin, three stepchildren, Amanda, Chris and Melissa, and one granddaughter, Natalie.

2 Comments

Filed under Lead Story, Rethink Women

2 responses to “The Power of the Spoken Word

  1. Lindsay Radun

    Thank you so much for posting this! This is just what I needed to hear! I am learning how important it is to speak to the mountain, to use the authority I have in Jesus Christ! There is so much power in the spoken word! 🙂

  2. Donna

    Thank you for this article. My spirit was blessed

Leave a Reply

