Music: Josh Hilliker

These days, especially as an independent artist, it seems nearly impossible to break through. Even when you can you are forced to connect with an ever-changing culture while also being “unique”, this can prove to be a daunting task. Worship artist Josh Hilliker has figured it out though, Josh’s soothing vocals, pleasing melodies, and uplifting original lyrics touch believers – and unbelievers – of all ages. Shortly after arriving on the scene Josh began drawing early comparisons to John Mayer, Shane & Shane and Bebo Norman, Josh has found his own unmistakable original sound – a smooth blend of folksy pop, blues and soul-stirring worship.

A singer/songwriter, worship leader, and “music minister’s kid” from Tuscaloosa, AL, Josh grew up in church singing hymns of the faith. Learning to play guitar at an early age, he pursued music by playing in local rock bands throughout high school and college. At the age of 19 he felt called to use his musical gifts to serve Christ. Josh says, “God revealed to me that I was using the gifts He had given me to glorify myself. I was playing college baseball and playing in a rock band so from the outside it looked like a pretty cool lifestyle, but inside I was a wreck. I realized that day that God had a plan for my life and I surrendered to follow Him.”

Over the past few years, Josh has been traveling across the southeast, performing at churches and venues of all sizes and sharing the stage with some of Christian music’s top artists like Casting Crowns, Big Daddy Weave, Shane & Shane, Warren Barfield, Aaron Shust and Shawn McDonald. He has also appeared in CCM, Relevant, and Power Source magazines, been featured on the Gospel Music Channel’s Music Download Monday (gospelmusicchannel.com), and led worship for World Changers, Centrifuge and Student Life camps. While admitting he has grown immensely as a songwriter and performer from these “stage” experiences, it’s his “life” experiences, and a fresh call to authenticity, that are beginning to shape his ministry. “I’m learning to embrace vulnerability,” he says. “I want to be as transparent as I can in both my writing and my performances so that Christ, and only Christ, is glorified. I’m not perfect and I don’t have it all together… and if I’m honest about my struggles, and honest about my weaknesses, then people will see God’s grace at work in a real person’s life.”

Josh’s debut CD, Where Can I Run? (January 2005), earned rave reviews from Power Source and grassrootsmusic.com and his first single, “Sail Away”, received airplay nationwide. Josh Hilliker Live (March 2007), his second project, features two new original songs, covers of popular worship songs like “All The Earth” and “More Precious Than Silver”, and a bonus studio track of his latest single, “Who Is Like You”, winner of the Indie New Music Challenge six weeks in a row (newreleasetuesday.com).

Currently, Josh is writing for his second studio album set to be produced by award winning producer Scotty Wilbanks (Third Day, Decemberadio, Echoing Angels), Josh has also recently signed with Consumed Artist Agency, a premier indie booking and management agency based out of Atlanta, GA. Josh, his wife Amy, and their two little girls, Campbell Joy and Rilee Elizabeth, make their home in Tuscaloosa where – when not on the road – Josh can be found leading worship at Capstone Church on the University of Alabama campus.

With two successful recording projects and his touring schedule rapidly expanding, Josh is accepting God’s call on his life and music. “I’m excited about what the future holds, “ he says. “God has blessed us in so many ways, and despite all of my failures, He has always been faithful. You know, I am inconsistent… but He is consistent. I am weak in so many ways, but He is the definition of strength. His grace is tangible… it’s real… and that’s the message I want to share. That’s what I want to write and sing about.”

_____________________________________________________

Be sure to check Josh out at www.joshhilliker.com and Josh’s music is now available at grassrootsmusic.com, cdbaby.com, independentbands.com and on iTunes.

2 Comments

Filed under Music Reviews, Reviews

2 responses to “Music: Josh Hilliker

  1. Rachel Morgan

    I attend Capstone Church. Josh is an awesome force for leading music worship on Sunday mornings. He makes me sing out to the heavens, even though I have a less than desirable voice. He has truely been blessed by God!

  2. wu pate

    Josh Hilliker is a gifted worship leader and I think the culture of church in the southeast will be changed by people like him, working to show that God is real, relevant and powerful.

Leave a Reply

